About Crystal Downs Country Club
Crystal Downs Country Club was founded June 21, 1927, located on the shore of beautiful Lake Michigan, three miles north of the community of Frankfort, and forty miles west of Traverse City. The following year, Alister MacKenzie of Scotland was engaged to design what was to become one of the most highly rated classic golf courses in the world.
The historic English style Clubhouse, designed by Alexander McCall, was opened in 1929. It graces one of the highest points of property, providing diners with exquisite views of both Crystal Lake and Lake Michigan. The Clubhouse kitchen was completely renovated in 2018.
The families who came together to build Crystal Downs wanted a family focused club that contributes to the enrichment of the lives of members and their families, as well as the citizens and institutions of the surrounding community. Providing a superior experience for our diverse group of members, using our exceptional legacy, facilities and location, is at the forefront of our philosophy. The Club is open May 1 to October 31.
Crystal Downs has a full membership of close to 450 members, with a substantial waiting list of member applicants. Many of our full time staff have a tenure of 25 years or more, which is indicative of the care and esteem of the club members toward the staff.